In addition to our affiliation with the state body, Brisbane Netball Association is affiliated with the Combined Australian Netball Association. CANA was formed in late 1984 by representatives of Netball Associations from Queensland, South Australia and Tasmania and has grown to include representative associations from Victoria, New South Wales and Western Australia.


CANA’s annual tournament attracts teams from across the country with teams from 13 & Under up to Masters, Men’s and Mixed. It is the only tournament that includes all ages and genders together at one event. Upward of 50 teams enter the event each year and it is held at different venues around Australia.


2013 CANA National Championships


The BNA experienced great success at the 2013 championships with our U13 Red and U15 teams winning their respective age divisions.  Our U13 White team finished 5th, our U13 Black Development team recorded wins and our Open Ladies team were semi-finalists.


The BNA was also well represented in the individual awards:


U13 Dean Lawrence Medal Winner (player of the grand final) – Jacqui Yorston.

Jacqui Yorston

U15 Dean Lawrence Medal Winner (player of the grand final) – Tara Hinchliffe.

Tara Hinchliffe DL Medal


U13 Player of the Tournament – Oraylia Channer.

Oraylia Channer POT

U13 Championship Team – Sarah Strong, Oraylia Channer, Octavia Channer, Teeghan Hess, Gabrielle Pokia, Nandia Els.

U13 Championship Team

U15 Championship Team – Taylah De Gregorio, Maddie Hinchliffe, Tara Hinchliffe.

U15 Championship team

International touring teams (travelling to Malta in 2014) – Sarah Strong, Teeghan Hess, Samantha Brockwell, Dennon King.

Touring Squad 2 Touring squad1

2014 CANA National Championships

The 2014 tournament will be held at the STNA complex, Hobart, from Friday night, 3rd October to Saturday, 9th October, 2014.  Nominations for BNA players and officials will be called in mid 2014.


Stay tuned to this page for nominations when they are released.